Master/slave with mqtt_eventstream retain all published devices

Hello, i have a master/slave setup with mqtt_eventstream, with mosquitto as broker (ubuntu default)
The following HA configurations:

Slave HA:

mqtt:
  broker: 192.168.111.117
  client_id: home-assistant-2
mqtt_eventstream:
  publish_topic: slaves/zwave
  subscribe_topic: master/#

Master HA:

mqtt:
  broker: 192.168.111.117
  client_id: home-assistant-1
  discovery: true
mqtt_eventstream:
  subscribe_topic: slaves/#
  publish_topic: master

The problem is that the Master HA looses MQTT devices from time to time, reasons unknown. And i figure if i can force all MQTT devices that my Slave HA publishes to be retained by default the problem would be solved.

Anyone who knows how to do this?
Or any other way to fix MQTT devices to be lost in the UI?

I am setting up MQTT eventstream and I am interested in a solution to this and also determining states on restart. If you fire an event from the slave on the dev tool page, does the device appear on the master? If it is just device inactivity that cause this, can you automate the slave to fire an event every so often. We can test which event doesn’t do anything but causes the device to appear on the master. I would like an event that fires the state (without changing it) so I can automate the master to tell the slave to fire that event on restart.

Yeah, if a device is triggered anywhere it will show up on the master again, it seems like they dissapear after inactivity.

did you find a solution to this.
I recently started using eventstream again and had completely forgot about this issue (disappearing devices).

I am thinking that the mqtt “retain” flag would take care of this but the eventstream component doesn’t have configuration option for this

No i did not.

I gave up the HASS master/slave configuration.
The reason i need it is because i have a RPi with RazBerry zwave-module that i want to use as a dumb slave to my main HASS server.