MCP23017 chip settings

Hi,
I am new to HA.
I am planning to hook up a MCP23017 to my HA system
Found some integration documents to setup the I/O pins, there is no info to adjust the config register when the chip boots up to allow build in functions. I want to enable the interupt output as soon as a input pin on the MCP changes state. Int A for A port and INt B for B ports

How can this be done?

Kind regards,
Peter

Hi Peter,

I wrote the MCP23017 component for HA, I didnā€™t originally add the interrupt functionality because the library that I used to developed it was missing some needed functions (Adafruit_CircuitPython_MCP230xx), I implemented those functions into that library later on through a PR (Improve interrupt) and then added some interrupt functionality into a repository in my github account for testing purposes with the idea of adding such functionality into the HA component. Well, that proved to be more difficult than expected since it presents some odd behavior at times, here is the link to my custom_component repository in case you want to give it a try. At the moment it is hard coded to have a mirrored open drain interrupt for both A and B ports on any change state, you can see these in the binary_sensor.py file lines 102-103.

StephenBeirlaen on github helped improve the interrupts to work with multiple MCPs chained to one interrupt pin in the Raspberry Pi, but we had some reliability issues using the INTFLAG, we havenā€™t been able to find out what the issue is and I havenā€™t had the time to really look into it. Life gets in the way some times, so if you can help improve this component that would be awesome.

Any way, if you need any help let me know. I will try to be better at responding to these posts.

Jardi.

Jardi,

Thanks for the reply. I am new to HA, will read your documentation to get this going and let you know.
Sure i can/will help improve the component.

-Peter

1 Like

Jardi,