MediaPlayer-TTS how set up?

A bit frustrated noob here, as I seem to not be able to find a “How-To” to set up what seems would be a simple and very common situation. The documentation on Media Player has not helped me figure this out…

I want to be able to create automations that result in speech being sent to ESPHome speakers in my house – but clearly I am missing something…

I have a RaspiAudio Muse Luxe speaker set up as a voice assistant, and two M5Stack Atom Echos, and they have been working great for about 6 months now. It speaks back to me when I ask it to turn on a light, so I know both my voice assistant set-up and the speaker wotk fine.

I tried to set-up an automation to speak, via TTS to my MuseLuxe following the same steps in Kiril’s YouTube video

and my MuseLuxe did appear as an option for a media.player (the Atom Echo’s do not show as media.players). However, when I ran the “action” I got this

but when I tried to pick an “area”, “device”, “entiry”, etc, none “are available”, so there is nothing I can pick. This is what my automation action looks like

I am trying to get the notice that the alarm was armed to my speakers.

I’d sure appreciate any help or ideas, as I have not been able to find a solution. Perhaps too, a “How_To” document page woudl be useful to have… I know it is a very basic thing for most…

you need to add a tts provider.

perhaps try piper. instructions here:

I have, as mentioned I have all the Wyoming protocol bits needed to make voice assisst work – Piper, Whisper and openwakeword, and voice assistance has been working great for 6 months now…

Do I need to install anything other adons ? or HACS plugins ? Any settings I have missed ?

hmmm… maybe i’m misunderstanding the question. i thought the question is really centered around why the “+ choose entity” gives you nothing. is that the core question you have? without a tts.* entity, that tts.speak call isn’t gonna work…