Mi.Light Panel and classic light switches

I have been using MiLight/Limitless lights for a few months now and I’m pretty happy with them. I’m just doing one room as a trial before we do a kitchen renovation and roll them out throughout the house.

The renovation is at the lighting/switches design stage at the moment and I had been thinking of using this panel https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Milight-B3-4-Zone-RGB-RGBW-and-brightness-dimming-Smart-Panel-Remote-Controllerfor-led-strip-light/32792154227.html for the lights.

What I have realised is that the panel isn’t a real switch, and I think I still need a real switch on the lights too, to for pair the lights and also to be able to stop power running to them when swapping bulbs etc.

It’s going to look pretty messy having the panel and classic light switches.

Has anyone done something similar?

Bobjwatts, I’m a bit late spotting your query re that milight controller. I have tried these controllers.
They are very smart looking and superficially work well. The limitation of these remotes as a user friendly device is that they are not backlighted and have no tactile feedback. So if you try to use them in the dark you do not know what you are doing. So for me they are just a curiosity.
Your comments about having overriding control of a hard wired switch are also essential. But I have also had operational trouble with the power on/off switch which is required for pairing. I am using milight downlights as skylight alternatives and control them every six seconds with HA/appdaemon. If anyone happens to operate the wall switch when HA is signalling the milight it is not uncommon for the milight to unlink - very annoying.
The milights are FUT068s, very cheap and extremely effective but the associated dangling driver leaves much to be desired. I have a functional lighting control system but it is not user friendly.

Hi,

I don’t understand why would you need to send commands to lights every six seconds.