MicroController Learning First Steps (ESP vs RPi)

Hello everyone,
I’ve been using SmartThings for a few years, but considering Home Assistant for the last few months.

One of the things I’m most interested in is creating custom hardware and software integrations using microcontrollers. First, I’d like to start with an understanding of which platform will likely result in the best long term success and consistent approach so that I can focus my research and learning in the right areas.

From watching a few YouTube videos, it seems…

RPi Pico/Python is a little more straightfoward to pick up w/ lower power consumption, but has fewer libraries and no integrated WiFi or Bluetooth, whereas

ESP32 is programmed with C++ which is a little harder to code in (noob here) and uses more power, but has an extensive library and integrated WiFi and Bluetooth.

Any recommendations with choosing a platform and where to continue my learning?

Thank you

The title of the category you posted in is the answer to your question.

ESPHome is configured with simple yaml snippets. No programming necessary.

Pitck a sensor/device, copy the yaml from the docs, adjust it for the gpio pin you want to use and upload to your chosen ESP board. It’s that simple. It has a native api that works with Home Assistant and uses discovery for easy inclusion of your devices.

Here’s a well documented doorbell project as an example:

OK, thank you. You’re right, I knew I was basically posting “Should I use ESP?” in the ESPHome forum.

Maybe a better question would be…

If you were starting all over again (and didn’t already know C++), but also wanted to get into advanced custom projects (not just copy/paste YAML) for Smart Home and other projects, would you go ESP/C++ or RPi/Python?

I’ve used c++ to program an Arduino. But replaced it with ESPHome when I started using home assistant.
It really is a case of a few lines of config yaml instead of hundreds of lines of python or c++.