Migrate from HA Supervised to Docker Installation

Has anyone attempted or had any experience moving from HA Supervised over to a Docker based installation?

I currently have these addons that I feel I need to move over to their own Docker based versions and connect my HA to use those standalone Docker versions prior to backing up the HA Supervised install and attempting to restore it on a fresh HA Docker installation.

Addons Currently Being Used

• MariaDB
  • InfluxDB
  • Node-RED
  • ESPHome
  • Mosquitto broker

You will be doing a lot of manual backup and restoring. You cannot (easily to my knowledge at least) backup a HA Supervised install and then restore it to HA Container.

MariaDB, InfluxDB, ESPHome, and MQTT Broker (Mosquitto) can all be run in separate containers and integrated into HA. ESPHome itself doesn’t actually integrate into HA, it runs standalone while all nodes running ESPHome compiled software are what actually gets integrated into HA. I have no knowledge of Node-Red but I’m sure it’s a similar separate container install and setup like the others. MariaDB you should be able to export the database from the addon, then restore it to the external MariaDB container.

Once you have your containers setup, make a backup of your HA Supervised install and backup your configuration directory of HA (including the .storage folder and everything referenced by your configuration.yaml). You can test your external containers are setup properly before migrating by shutting down and removing the addons, then configuring HA to point to the external containers.

Of course this is all theory. You’ll have to do some reading on how to actually move things over.