Migrating from Hass.io to Hassbian

I’m still relatively new to Home Assistant. All I have ever used is Hass.io instead of using Hassbian. For the most part, it has worked fine. However recently I’ve had things break (USPS and Fedex), where the workaround seems to be adding dependencies or using fixes that don’t seem possible with Hass.io. I am discovering that Hass.io has some limitations that Hassbian does not.

I’m thinking or redoing my Home Assistant to Hassbian. First, I’m wondering if that is worthwhile. I’m also wondering if I would have to start over or if I could copy over my yaml files after the initial setup. If going this route, I had planned to clone my SD card first of course to restore Hass.io if I needed. Any advice would be appreciated. I want to make this decision now before I make Home Assistant more fleshed out than its current state.

Once add-on that I am interested in doing is the Floorplan, At this point I haven’t looked much into it so not sure if its even possible to do with Hass.io.

Just copy your config files over to the new install and it will work like normal

That’s good to know. I went and looked at the different methods and it looks like you can do Hassbian as a presetup image or I can do Rasbian and install Home Assistant in a virtual environment. Not sure which is the best?

hassbian is the quickest way. they both end up with the same thing

Ok, thanks. I just wanted to make sure one didn’t have a benefit over the other.

Several days I’m in constant migration between Hass.io and Hassbian on Raspbery Pi 2. Both are working almost fine with exceptions no perfect solution :-(. HA configuration is exactly the same except add-ons.