Migrating from InfluxDB to TimescaleDB on a Raspberry Pi

I have been using InfluxDB for the past five months to create history of HA entities (mostly heating system and solar energy production/consumption). However, two weeks ago I was affected by InfluxDBs inability to scale beyond 2GB databases on a Raspi therefore I decided to switch to TimescaleDB. I had very good experiences with PostgreSQL in the past at work and home so it was worth a try.

Installing TimescaleDB is described in depth on their home page. The only hurdle was the timescaledb-tune command which is not available for Raspian. I was able to install Go 1.14 (available in buster-backports) and compile it from sources (not sure why it’s not in the repositories since it was no problem at all and Go produces binaries without any dependencies). This sidetrack excluded TimescaleDB was up and running in less than 30 minutes.
Then I installed Expaso’s custom integration LTSS, configured it in HA and data arrived immediately without any problems. Since Grafana - which I use for analysis and visualization - supports PostgreSQL natively changing the dashboards was straight forward. Using SQL I was also able to fix a long-standing issue in Grafana/InfluxDB: when there are no measurements within the select time interval Grafana wouldn’t show anything. With some SQL magic I was able to fix this by simply carrying the latest value outside the interval to just the interval boundary. In order to make queries in Grafana simpler I created some database functions which I want to share here:

CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION timeseries(entity VARCHAR, time_from TIMESTAMP WITH TIME ZONE, time_to TIMESTAMP WITH TIME ZONE)
RETURNS TABLE("time" TIMESTAMP WITH TIME ZONE, state FLOAT) AS $$
	SELECT * FROM 
		(
			(SELECT time, state::float
			 FROM ltss
			 WHERE entity_id = entity AND time > time_from AND time < time_to AND NOT state = 'unavailable')
		UNION
			(SELECT time_from, state::float
			 FROM ltss