Migrating from Raspberry Pi 3B+ to 4B

I have been using Home Assistant for a couple of years and just migrated from a Raspberry Pi 3B+ (running Stretch with Python 3.5 installed) to a Raspberry PI 4 by moving my SD card and SSD drive without a clean image install with no loss of data. Previously I had successfully migrated from the Raspberry PI 2 model B to the 3B+ without a clean image install and no loss of data so I thought I would try the same for the 3B+ to the 4B migration. For the whole time I have been running Home Assistant on Raspian with a venv and using a PiDrive mSATA interface board from the original kickstarter campaign with a mydigitalSSD BP4E 128GB mSATA SSD installled on it. The PiDrive is in the Raspberry Pi form factor and plugs into the 40 pi connector, but all the power and interface is done through the USB cable/connection. I actually plugged in a powered hub on the model 2 and 3B+ so the SSD would work correctly. I did not connect the PiDrive to the hub. I have always have had to boot from the SD card and then it runs the OS from the SSD. I believe that is the case for the Raspberry Pi 4B at the present time. I can say that the the Raspberry PI 4B is a great improvement but I only realized a 25% improvement in the SSD performance because the PiDrive interface is USB 2.0. The following is a summary of the process I used a best as I can remember.

Steps on the Raspberry 3B+ system:

1. Upgrade to Buster from Stretch ( this also solves the Piwheel issue and upgrades to python 3.7 so hopefully I should be good for a while. I followed the instructions found at Raspberrypi.org

sudo apt update
sudo apt dist-upgrade

After rebooting into Buster OS:

sudo apt purge timidity lxmusic gnome-disk-utility deluge-gtk evince wicd wicd-gtk clipit usermode gucharmap gnome-system-tools pavucontrol