Migrating from wink 2

For the past 2 years my home has mostly just worked with a wink 2 hub. I say mostly because there have been issues with certain things that I just stopped caring about. As you may know right now, Wink is holding people hostage.

I have a mix of products. Hue, Caseta, Insteon, zwave and I may even have a zigbee or 2.

I’m a software developer so this kind of excites me, except I have a ton of other projects going on.

I’m torn on 2 things right now. Do i go with another hub like a Vera plus or some generic zigbee/zwave hardware. Does vera give complete device control in HA? The other question is around hosting HA. I have a qnap nas and I could run a container on it. Is it it better to purchase a Raspberry pi for this? I’d rather not have extra hardware. Yes I know they are cheap, but this was all unplanned and the wink 2 is now just a waste of money. Thanks in advance

Personally… go direct. Sure, you could buy a Vera hub to interact with your Z-Wave and Zigbee devices, or you could spend a fraction of the price :wink:

I’d use your NAS, rather than a Pi, and getting the Docker install there is documented. It’s even possible to get Home Assistant (with add-ons) installed. The best use of a Pi is to host your Z-Wave and/or Zigbee integrations if your NAS is in the basement/garage/etc.

There is native Insteon support, same for Hue, and Caseta. Obviously you’ve got Z-Wave (which will shortly be upgraded), and multiple choices for your Zigbee integration.

The good news is, there’s a massive list of official integrations and even more unofficial ones.

1 Like

My wink hub has been in my basement with zero connectivity problems. Is it safe to assume if the wink hub had no problems I can leave the new stuff down there as well? I have a rack in the basement, it’s nice to keep things out of sight. I guess the position of my first devices is enough to create a solid mesh network.