Migrating to new Pi

Newbie here. I have been experimenting with HA on a Pi 2b via etherner. Now I got a Pi 3b+ and I want to migrate the install and move to wifi.

I tried installing hassio image on the Pi3, running the initial setup, and then copying everything from config folder from the old to the new pi, but thats a disaster as I dont have the same modules installed. So I tried installing the same modules, but even after that, most things do not work and my log shows tons of sqlite errors.

Is there an easy way to do this? Or could I just use the Pi2 image on the Pi3 and then change the network settings ?

Use the snapshot feature.
On the old Pi instance, go into the hassio dashboard/snapshots, take a full snapshot and download it somewhere safe.
On the new Pi, run through the installer until you can access hassio. Install the Samba addon, upload the saved snapshot to the snapshots folder, go to hassio/snapshots (you may need to refresh), select the upload snapshot and do a full restore.

Bingo!

Gareth
PS come back if this was too terse. We were all newbies once!

1 Like

Thanks, I found and tried that meanwhile. The snapshot doesnt seem to include lovelace settings, node-red scripts, MQTT settings and a whole bunch of other things. But more importantly, Im getting database errors for just about everything. Like this one:

Error saving event: <Event state_changed[L]: entity_id=sensor.man_cave_temperature, old_state=<state sensor.man_cave_temperature=20.48; time=2019-11-25T12:25:30.577Z, setting=0, unit_of_measurement=°C, friendly_name=Man cave temperature, icon=mdi:thermometer @ 2019-11-25T12:25:35.086377+00:00>, new_state=<state sensor.man_cave_temperature=20.5; time=2019-11-25T12:27:25.247Z, setting=0, unit_of_measurement=°C, friendly_name=Man cave temperature, icon=mdi:thermometer @ 2019-11-25T12:27:39.309201+00:00>>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/sqlalchemy/engine/base.py", line 1249, in _execute_context