Missing unique ID

Hi everbody,

first of all - great project and great community, thanks for all that.
I am experiencing problems with my recently started homeassistant installation, I am new to homeassistant (switching from pimatic with all my devices) and am trying to configure my first instance.

I am using

• Phoscon deCONZ (installed via “integrations”)
  • mysensors (installed via configuration.yaml)
  • rflink (installed via configuration.yaml)
  • maxcube (installed via configuration.yaml)

actually all four integrations work as expected, all my devices were discovered automatically and I can control them. Great!

The problem i am experiencing starts when trying to customize my overview page. All devices have “strange” names like “unitec_c186_02” or names extracted from deCONZ, mySensor nodes and the maxcube, which I would like to change into the actual name the device is for (e.g. Light Livingroom). The only devices (entities) I can rename are the ones from deCONZ. All other entities show up with the note “This entity does not have a unique id, settings therefore cannot be changed from UI” (roughly translated).

I read a lot about it and found out, I can’t set the unique id myself, which is a pity. Now is there any possibility to use “nice names” for my automatically detected entities (which obviously do not show up in configuration.yaml or anywhere else where I could change the name). My preferred solution would be to rename them in the UI as I can do with the deCONZ entities. If I have to change the integration of mysensors, maxcube and rflink then will do so. I already tried to add a “unique_id” for discovered rflink devices when presenting them onto the event bus, but I wouldnt get it to work.

Can anybody advise please or point me into the right direction?

Thank you very much
hofaa

The integration has to support unique_id - you can’t do anything if it doesn’t.