Mitsubishi AC with Wemos D1 Mini Pro

Hi folks,

I’m trying to connect my Mitsubishi AC unit (a Mr. Slim SLZ-KA12NA) into Home Assistant with MQTT support. I’m brand new to all of this (Home Assistant, MQTT, Arduino etc), and I’m struggling to determine what my next step should be to get this working. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what I have done so far:

** Install Hass.io on a Rasberry Pi 3 B+
** Include the Mosquitto broker add-on within Hass.io .
** Using SwiCago/HeatPump as a guide, I have built out a Wemos D1 Mini Pro with a pigtail that connects to the CN105 connector on the AC’s board. The Wemos D1 Min iPro has power through the CN105), and is it is successfully connecting to WiFi.
** I’m using usernames / passwords in MQTT, and in the MQTT log I am seeing the following two lines repeated over and over:"

1553252841: |-- mosquitto_auth_acl_check(…, client id not available, <> heatpump/timers,
MOSQ_ACL_WRITE)
1553252841: |-- aclcheck(<>, heatpump/timers, 2) CACHEDAUTH: 0

** In the Arduino IDE I used “Heampump” as my sketch, supported by mitsubishi_heatpump_matt_esp8266 as my library (both also sourced from SwiCago/Heatpump). It complies and uploads fine to the Wemos D1 mini without any issues.

Where I am stuck:

** I’m not confident that I am using the correct sketch / library from SwiCago/Heatpump, and there are several there to choose from. Could someone tell me which files to use?

** I’m also confused as to what configuration I should be adding to my configuration.yaml file. I believe there was also a recent breakage, I’m running the latest version of Home Assistant. Can anyone direct me to an example of the code?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate it!

2 Likes

Hi Skipjack and welcome to the community!

First let me say that if you are new to all of this then you really dived in at the deep end on this project…good on you!

Don’t be too disappointed if this one takes a while to get working is all I would say.