Mobile App Error on first connection

Hello all, I’m new to hass and I’ve been having fun piloting it. So far I’ve:

1. Setup hass on a pi4
  2. Setup my first integration (MyQ garage door opener)
  3. Successfully triggered garage door opener from my browser in the overview panel.

Next up I wanted to control these from my phone. I installed the official hass mobile app. On initial load you are greeted with a message:
Select the instance you would like to connect to:
Home
http://172.30.32.1:8123:8123 (this was prepopulated)

When tapping this I get the following error
Unable to connect to Home Assistant.
There was an error loading Home Assistant, please review the connection settings and try again.

If I take myself off of wifi and reload the UI my only option is to enter an address manually. I have no idea what to enter here and would assume by default hass is not exposed to the outside internet.

I did some digging on mobile app documentation and found this page. It states the mobile app integration is enabled by default but I had a nosey in my console here to ensure I see the integration listed and I do. I dug around online and found others stating to try clearing the mobile app cache. This is the first time I’ve installed the app but I tried in anyway which predictably did not resolve the issue.

Can anyone advise if there is further troubleshooting documentation available or perhaps might know what to try next? TIA

I seemed to have found the answer. Hass initially installs with “advanced mode” off. I found a post about it here. Turning advanced mode on enables the ability to connect with the phone app. I stumbled onto this fix accidentally by wanting to SSH into hass to ensure the config file really did have mobile_app: enabled. To install ssh in add-ons I had to turn on advanced mode first as a pre-requisite and magically before ssh’ing in the mobile app was working.