Mobile install - Auto update Home location in a van/boat using a GPS capable router and Traccar

The problem:
HA installed in a van (or boat, etc) which makes zone based automations very difficult or rather impassible.

There is a really good topic showing how to achieve this in great detail so why bother with another take on this, you ask. Not to forget the fact that I am new to the game and know very little about HA. Well, because it’s easier for a novice like me…

Prerequisites:

• mobile HA installation or otherwise why bother with this at all?!? :grinning:
  • GPS capable router (like the Teltonika RUTX11) or any other GPS device capable to communicate with Traccar

The above-mentioned router is capable of reporting the lat & lon values over MQTT as well, the reason I went with Traccar is because it can help with service intervals (after set mileage reached) and I also use it for my car as well.

Both HA (as a VM) and Traccar (as an LXC container) run in a Proxmox install on my home server in the van, right next to the Teltonika router. On the router I set up an AVL server in the Services menu which sends data to my Traccar install. On the Traccar server I made a restricted user for HA with readonly privileges to view the van location. You can use the Traccar addon but I decided I want my HA instance as light as possible with as few addons as possible.

Now let’s talk about the HA side of things…

To integrate your Traccar instance into HA you need to copy this to your configuration.yaml:

device_tracker:
  - platform: traccar
    host: 192.168.xxx.xxx #your_traccar_IP
    port: 8082
    username: your_traccar_user
    password: your_traccar_password
    new_device_defaults:
      track_new_devices: true