More supported RFXTRX sensor data types

My personal weather station sensors provide more information that I can currently add with the available data_type options. I would like to help and add more data types.

Since I’m pretty new to HA, where to start?

Example:
Rain: rain_total (mm)
Wind: wind_speed (Kph)
General: battery (%)

cc @Danielhiversen

1 Like

You need to add support for it to the library we are using https://github.com/Danielhiversen/pyRFXtrx

Would that be around this line:

https://github.com/Danielhiversen/pyRFXtrx/blob/master/RFXtrx/init.py#L352

Browsing that code and looking at the sensor attributes in HA, I can see that a number of values are already in the library. I need / like to have them as separate sensors in HA, so they should be added to the sensor.rfxtrx component, don’t they?

Looks like the library does have the necessary sensor packet types :wink:

if isinstance(pkt, lowlevel.Rain):
        self.values['Rain rate'] = pkt.rainrate
        self.values['Rain total'] = pkt.raintotal
    if isinstance(pkt, lowlevel.Wind):
        self.values['Wind direction'] = pkt.direction
        self.values['Wind average speed'] = pkt.average_speed
        self.values['Wind gust'] = pkt.gust
        self.values['Temperature'] = pkt.temperature
        self.values['Chill'] = pkt.chill

I have not been around lately. Has this been fixed in the meantime?

I’m interested in this functionality as well. I have a rainmeter that I have added as a rfxtrx sensor. It’s a
Oregon PCR800. I can use the “Rain rate” datatype but I can not access the “Rain total” data the sensor delivers, as a own datatype. Is it possible to do this?
sensor.rain_cum_rain_rate 0.0
Rain rate: 0
Rain total: 75.6
Battery numeric: 9
Rssi numeric: 7
unit_of_measurement:
friendly_name: rain_cum Rain rate

Got it. Figured out hot to access it with template sensor and sensor attribute data:
value_template: '{{ states.sensor.rain_cum_rain_rate.attributes["Rain total"] }}'