Motion Detection - Sensor Advice

Hello there :wink:

I’m pretty new to Home Assistant. I just had a few gadgets here and there but now i want to do it all! I have a reasonable budget but not too high.
I set up a Server with a Docker Host with Home Assistant, Mosquitto and Unifi so far.
I really like the Xiaomi Sensors because they’re cheap and seem to work pretty good but i want to have my own ZigBee Base for it.

Regardless BTT. My Question is how the Sensors especially the Aqara ones detect motion. If i sit still on the toilet for 10 mins (happens) and the lights turn of like it is at the moment with my hard wired motion sensors (cuts power to light if there is no motion) it’s pretty stupid. But if i just reach in to the closet in the bathroom to get the window cleaner, boom 15 mins. light on. It’s all LED so the power cost isn’t that much of a problem but it still annoys me.

Is there sth like a presence detection which not only senses motion but for example body heat?
So that it can turn of the lights maybe 5 seconds after i leave the room?

Thanks in Advance :wink:

Oh and thanks for all the people helping and giving tipps. I have been lurking for quite a while now to get tipps and infos.

Have a nice Day
Kind Regards
Stefan

There is a nice explanation how PIR’s work here :

In short : they all work on moving body heat, but most commercial ones have a time-out, so they don’t turn off after 15 seconds.

1 Like

You can set a timer that resets when detecting movement again.

There are also other sensors that detect the person instead of the movement, but they are much more expensive.

With home assistant you could build presence detection with bluetooth (if you have something like Mi Band. You’ll need esp32.

Your best bet is to create an automation and set a timer. Its how i have mine and almost works well.

2 Likes

Thank you both!

for some reason i didn’t think about looking into the wikipedia article.
So probably an active sensor would be the solution…