Moving away from Raspberry?

Hi, I’m currently running Hass.io on a Raspberry pi 3. This was my first experience with Home Assistant so I figured it was a safe bet to install this. I’ve got it setup and it’s all working fine, but I’m a bit scared of the SD card breaking due to the read/write actions… I dont think this will happen any time soon (started using it halfway september this year) but I’d rather not find out the hard way. :slight_smile:
So as a next step I want to move to another more robust installation.

I have a Lenovo Thinkcenter M900 (i5 6500T, 16Gb Ram, 500Gb SSD) currently running W10, which I would like to use for this. But I’m a bit lost on what would be the best setup for this. I’m a total noob with Linux (but willing to learn!) and tio be honest I’m a bit scared to go that path…

Could you please advise me on what would be the best way to proceed? And maybe point me to a good tutorial (if any) I could use for this?

That’s up to you, really. What do you want it to look like in the end?

If you want Hassio, I would suggest these instructions:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1oKhnQ1rz-Yd5HheA8rNk5YNq8e67-5Kh

Basicly I’d like to have the same as I have now, but on a more stable platform. So, the second instruction in your link looks like what I want so I’ll start with that. Thanks for your reply :+1:

A Pi with Good quality SD card and a proper power supply does quite well. Any system, whether running on a SD card, or on a spinning disk, need to be backed up because stuff happens. If you want, you can even get high write endurance SD cards targeted at video recorders.

I’ve been running on a Pi since around version 0.26. I’ve had 1, maybe two cards fail. The recovery is pretty painless as long as you have a good backup. I’ve done more rebuilds do to user error in the early days, that I have for failed SD cards. I would say the M900 is major overkill and would have more maintenance than a Pi with Hassio.