MQTT Issues with Vacuum and Room Assistant

I am having continuing issues trying to get MQTT to work with both my vacuum and room assistant. Hoping someone can shed some light on what I am doing wrong. I am fairly new to HA and despite the nice gui, everything seems to require manual configuration.

I have installed Mosquitto as an add on. Set up the user for mqtt to use. I can go to dev tools and publish a packet while listening and I see the message. I can also use MQTT Explorer to connect and publish. So I am fairly certain that MQTT is working and packets are getting to HA my RPi.

Task #1 was to get my Roborock S5 connected up. It is running Valetudo. Works fine via the web page but HA integration would be cool. I have enabled MQTT on the vac. The config.json has:

"mqtt": {
    "enabled": true,
    "identifier": "rockrobo",
    "topicPrefix": "valetudo",
    "autoconfPrefix": "homeassistant",
    "broker_url": "mqtt://USER:[email protected]:1883",
    "provideMapData": true,
    "caPath": "",
    "qos": 0
  },

In my config.yaml for HA I have this based on a post I found here. I changed the topics from vacuum/XXXX to valetudo/XXX because that was the topic prefix in the vacuum config. Am I reading this incorrectly?? Still fuzzy on the mqtt functions. Under entities I have roborock with ID of vacuum.roborock and Vacuum as Integration. Clicking in there I have vacuum commands, however running any of those will produce a message in mqtt but the vac does nothing. Tailing the log on the vac, I see nothing.

vacuum:
  - platform: mqtt
    name: "roborock"
    supported_features:
      - turn_on
      - turn_off
      - pause
      - stop
      - return_home
      - battery
      - status
      - locate
      - clean_spot
      - fan_speed
      - send_command
    command_topic: "valetudo/command"
    battery_level_topic: "valetudo/state"
    battery_level_template: "{{ value_json.battery_level }}"
    charging_topic: "valetudo/state"