MQTT Lock will not update status in Lovelace UI

Hi, I am new to Home Assistant and need some help. This is my first post, so please be easy on me. :grinning: I have been using Homeseer for several years now and wanted to try something new. I liked what I read about Home Assistant and had the Raspberry Pi laying around so I said why not. The more I use it, the more I understand, and the more I like it.

Pertinent details:
Home Assistant 0.113.3
HassOS 4.11 Ver: 4.19.127-v7
Raspberry Pi 3 B+
Mosquitto Broker (Add-In) Ver 5.1
Node-Red Ver 7.0.0

I have seen and am following @paulmona and his configuration of Home Assistant as his situation is similar to mine. I have a lot of Z-Wave devices. Mains powered switches and dimmers (Homeseer & Jasco), Battery Door Sensors (Homeseer), Garage Door Controller (Go Control), Thermostat (Trane), Dead Bolts (Schlage Connect BE468CEN716. It is this last item I am having a problem with.

I have left everything configured in Homeseer (pretty robust z-wave control). I have utilized Michael McSharryā€™s very fine mcsMQTT plugin for Homeseer to publish and subscribe these various devices to the MQTT broker. I have experimented with Node-Red to control many of these devices. I have setup a ā€œlistenerā€ in Node-Red to subscribe to topics from the MQTT broker and put the topic payloads into a debug component so that I can see them in the Node-Red debug panel.

My problem stems from trying to get the status of the lock to update in the Lovelace UI. As I am just starting out I am utilizing the default view Lovelace dashboard. I have not ā€œtaken controlā€ of the UI at this point.

In my config.yaml file I have the following line:

lock: ! include locks.yaml

In my locks.yaml file I have the following:

- platform: mqtt
    name: "Back Door Lock"
    unique_id: "BackDoorLock"
    command_topic: "CRUD-06/mcsMQTT/Living_Room/Access_Control/Back_Door_Lock/Control"
    state_topic: "CRUD-06/mcsMQTT/Living_Room/Access_Control/Back_Door_Lock"