MQTT sensor instead of input_boolean for global variables

I have a few automation variables that I store as input_booleans. I don’t have them hidden as they help with occasional debugging. I just put them in an “Administration” view. This works fine but they look like switches in the front end and to prevent accidental manual toggling of these switches I would prefer they appeared as binary_sensors.

Is there any reason why I can’t use MQTT binary sensors for this purpose instead?

I’m pretty sure I can publish to the topic from HA automations when I want to set or reset the sensor and I can trigger automations or have conditions based on the sensor state, so this seems valid to me but I’m pretty new to MQTT.

I do have the Mosquito MQTT server enabled already on my hassio pi.

I guess I should use ‘retain’ when publishing so that the sensors have a value on restart of HA?

Thoughts?

no reason why you couldn’t. Just make sure that you return an on or off for these. You may need to create a value_template to define when a state is on and when it’s off

I’m planning on making them binary MQTT sensors and if I just publish ‘on’ or ‘off’ values to the topics I don’t think templates will be required.

EDIT: actualy I might take your advice and define the on and off states as ‘true’ and ‘false’ respectively. It makes for a much easier toggling of the state, e.g

action:
    service: mqtt.publish
    data_template:
      payload_template: '{{ not states.binary_sensor.recycling_week.state }}'
      topic: 'home-assistant/variable/recycling_week'
1 Like

Works perfectly.

This is a much better way of storing global variables that should only be changed pragmatically. I can still tweak them if required using mqttfx or HA’s mqtt publish tool.

Also, the publish retain flag was required for the sensor to have a value on HA restart.

HI,

Only just beginning with publishing mqtt sensors ea myself, please let me ask, why would you state this as a variable?