MQTT setup on AIO pi3 install

I am trying to setup MQTT so I can integrate my HASS with my existing SmartThings Hub . The hope is to get rid of Smart Things but for now this is needed to keep everything playing together.

I started with these instructions

But found them difficult because they don’t describe the steps to install and I think they are not specific to AIO setup. For example the first thing it says to do is install Mosca but I found two issues with this.

1. With the AIO install it seems mosquito is already installed. So why do I need Mosca
  2. To install Mosca it says use Docker, but doesn’t explain Docker at all. I have some minor experience using Docker from work so that wasn’t big deal but Docker is NOT installed in the AIO so I wasn’t sure how to install docker on my pi

So I started searching the community for MQTT on raspberry and I found this post.

I started following these instructions, at first not realizing they were steps he used for his MQTT setup which wasn’t working. I read the rest of the thread and it seems his issues were related to incorrect port configuration so I thought I may still be OK with my install. But when I start HASS it now says MQTT is not configured correctly and the logs say it can’t find the MQTT bridge. This makes sense because I can’t seem to get the step to start the bridge to work. I get the following.

pi@flicpi3:~$ pm2 restart smartthings-mqtt-bridge
Use --update-env to update environment variables
[PM2][ERROR] Process smartthings-mqtt-bridge not found
 Use `pm2 show <id|name>` to get more details about an app

So I think I have some of the components going but not sure what’s messed up.
mosquito seems OK
> pi@flicpi3:~$ systemctl status mosquitto.service

â mosquitto.service - LSB: mosquitto MQTT v3.1 message broker
       Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/mosquitto)
       Active: active (running) since Thu 2017-02-16 00:50:15 HST; 1h 2min ago