MQTT Statestream example needed

Hi all,

Well basically the title says it all, I’ve read through a lot of topics, but I can’t figure it out.

Is someone willing to make (or point me to) an example of the MQTT Statestream?

For instance I have a second Hassio PI3 with a sensor and I want to see the value of that sensor on my main Hassio PI3 (put is in the influxDB)

• What do I put in configuration.yaml of primary PI
  • What do I put in configuration.yaml of secondary PI

Hope someone can help me out! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Kind regards, Eltjo

1 Like

First a disclaimer, I have no hands-on experience with MQTT Statestream. What I’m about to share is based on my interpretation of the documentation.

It publishes all of Home Assistants events as MQTT topics. So if some component changes state, it gets published.

If your use-case is just one sensor then Statestream is the proverbial A-bomb to kill a fly. You don’t need Home Assistant publishing state-changes for all components just for one sensor. For one sensor, I’d probably investigate using an automation to publish the sensor’s state-changes to an MQTT topic. Have the other instance of Home Assistant subscribed to the topic (i.e. the other instance uses an MQTT Sensor).

Oh the other hand, if you want to subscribe to state-changes for all components than Statestream is probably the way to go.

FWIW, I’ve been using another Home Automation software since 2008 (Premise Home Control; development for it ended in 2006). It works great, I know it inside out, and have written several drivers for it. However, its frontend is based on antiquated technologies and its user-base is now microscopically small. So I developed the equivalent of MQTT Statestream for it. Home Assistant is subscribed to all of Premise’s topics and now serves as the frontend.