MQTT with Eventghost - half way there

I’m completely new to HASS, or doing anything with raspberryPI.

So far I’ve installed Rasbian on a Pi3 and enabled the Mosquitto service. I’ve also installed a MQTT plugin in Eventghost on my Windows10 pc. I can publish a topic from Mosquitto on the Pi and have eventghost successfully subscribe/receive the message, but when I try to have eventghost publish to said topic I cant seem to have HASS receive it. (it’s probably my automation that’s wrong) I would really appreciate some help with getting the two talking to each other.

Hopefully someone else is using evenghost for the same thing. Here’s a snippet of the config.yaml

mqtt:
    broker: 192.168.1.245
    port: 1883
    client_id: home-assistant-1
    keepalive: 60
    #username: USERNAME
    #password: PASSWORD
    birth_message:
        topic: 'hass/status'
        payload: 'online'
        qos: 1

Automation
  - alias: mqtt test
    trigger:
        platform: mqtt
        topic: "chromecast/playpause"
    action:
    platform: mqtt
        topic: "hass/status"
        payload: "online"

Hi

I am not familiar with eventghost - but it seems to be another home automation system.

What are you trying to do with HASS?

MQTT is just a messaging service that you can post and collect messages from. Very handy when communication between machines.

Do you want HASS to send a message to MQTT that eventghost will collect so that it performs an action, or is the intention for HASS to listen for a message on MQTT and then it act?

In either case, you will need to compose your message for MQTT - which entails a topic and a payload

Maybe if you can clarify your use case for HASS we can help some more

Welcome to home assistant!!

Phil

I actually figured it out. I didnt understand how the formating for messages worked.
This is a good explanation for anybody else struggling with MQTT.
http://www.hivemq.com/blog/how-to-get-started-with-mqtt