Multiple device trackers send command if statement

New to node-red. I have for items being tracked. based on whether they are home or away I want to change it up.

prefer if statement so If 1 and 2 and 3 = home and 4 <> home then

this possible?

Anything is possible, but I’m not quite sure what you’re attempting to accomplish.

Depending who is home it will set blue iris to what profile.

If adults home and kids not then do this.

if adults not but 1 of the kids are then do that.

Never wrote anything like this before besides 100 nodes.

You could use a function node to assign binary values to variables based upon states.

If (nobody is home) {
  this payload;
} else if (adult 1 is home or adult 2 is home) {
  this payload;
} else if (adult 1 is home or adult 2 is home and child 1 is home) {
  this payload;
} else if (no adult is home and child 1 or 2 or 3 is home) {
  this payload;
}
return msg;

Then use a switch node to route the message to blue iris.

I’m not a javascript expert, but this seems like the basic logic, or something along these lines. There’s probably 100 ways to do this and many far more elegant. I think the same could be accomplished with a bunch of node spaghetti.

1 Like

Using a trigger-state node.