My attempt at a Hassio add-on - please help?

Hi folks,

I’m attempting to create a Hassio add-on for the Qwikswitch USB Hub. It consists of a small webserver that communicates to a hub plugged into the USB port that, via RF, sends and receives signals to various relays, dimmers, switches, etc.

I followed the tutorial and created the Dockerfile and config.json file. The Dockerfile has lines to download the web server zip file and unzip it. It then needs to copy a file to /etc/udev/rules.d - and this is where it fails with a return code of 1.

Granted, I’m no Docker expert and not sure if I am going the right direction or or not. Can you please assist me to get this add-on up and running?

This is what my Dockerfile looks like:

ARG BUILD_FROM
FROM $BUILD_FROM

ENV LANG C.UTF-8

RUN apk --no-cache add
unzip
wget

RUN wget https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1883/0535/files/qsusb_pi_V1.91.zip
RUN unzip qsusb_pi_V1.91.zip
RUN cp z010_mchp_tools.rules /etc/udev/rules.d

WORKDIR /QSUSB

EXPOSE 2020

CMD [ “./QSUSB/qsusb” ]

config.json

{
“name”: “Qwikswitch USB Hub”,
“version”: “1”,
“slug”: “qwikswitch_usb_hub”,
“description”: “This add-on starts the Qwikswitch USB Hub middleware. Make sure that your USB Hub is connected to a USB port.”,
“startup”: “before”,
“boot”: “auto”,
“url”: “http://www.qwikswitch.co.za”,
“webui”: “http://[HOST]:[PORT:2020]/”,
“options”: {},
“schema”: {},
“ports”: {
“2020/tcp”: 2020
}
}

Note that I did try "RUN sudo cp … " as well and it returns a return code of 127.

Kind regards

Hi @frenck.

I am sure that you get a lot of queries regarding Hassio addons hence I try as much as I can referring to documentation, etc before I ask for help, but I’m at a loss here in getting this going. Can you please assist me in getting this add-on up and running?

I would greatly appreciate it very much.

@ipodmusicman, I do get a lot of queries. If you are interested in this development, please follow me on Twitch.