My automations do not trigger

It has been almost two weeks now since I started playing with Home Assistant. I thought I could figure it out myself digging through forum, logs and just playing through the interface but so far I failed this simple thing: setting up any automation to work.

When I check the state in the UI > Developer Tools > States it says it is on. I can trigger the automation myself and I can see it showing up in the Logbook. Here is the automation (created from the UI):

- id: '1579701262347'
  alias: Log message when Mircea enters home
  description: ''
  trigger:
  - entity_id: person.mircea_damian
    event: enter
    platform: zone
    zone: zone.home
  condition: []
  action:
    service: system_log.write
    data_template:
      level: info

For some reason the trigger does not work even though I can see in the Logbook when the person (myself) enters the house.
Iā€™m starting to think that there is something more serious which is not probably working and frankly Iā€™m lost now and could not find any clue where to look next, so please help!

Here some screenshots:

1. When the automation is being triggered manually:

2. When the person is entering home but the trigger is not firing:

Iā€™m seeing quite some errors in the Developer Tools > LOGS but they do not seem related.

Any hints?

Not 100% sure on this one as I use device tracker not person, but you seem to be mixing the two (two different entities on the same trigger, you would need a template to do that, but itā€™s not needed) up on your trigger.
Try
(sort your spacing out, Iā€™m on a phone)

trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id: person.mircea_damian
    to: 'home'
1 Like

How is your person set up? Does your person have gps coordinates? If the answer is no gps coordinates, then you have to use @Muttā€™s trigger instead of the zone trigger. Zone triggers require gps devices.