My ‘Home’ App on iOS can’t find Homebridge

Hi, newbie here.

I’ve setup Home Assistant on a Raspberry Pi using Hassbian. Really at the very beginning of my journey into home automation so please be gentle.

Tried to add Homebridge. Using SSH I triggered the install and after a fast scroll of info on screen it advised me that Homebridge is running and it gives me an 8 digit code to use in the home app on iOS. This apparently adds Homebridge as a device under the’Home’ app (although I’m not sure why). Trouble is, when entering this code after selecting the ‘Don’t have a code or can’t scan’ line

it simply has a spinning ‘cog’ as though it’s searching for the device. Trouble is - it never finds it. Am I missing something? I’ve not added anything in the configuration.yaml folder. I’ve tried the integration of Homebridge twice now (from simply running the same command via ssh in terminal) with exactly the same outcome. Both times produced two different 8 digit codes. Both end up stuck searching for the ‘device’ in the ‘Home’ app. Help greatly appreciated (including what I then need to do to add devices thereafter)

If you are trying to use Homekit to control Home Assistant then I would recomend using Home assistant’s component. https://www.home-assistant.io/components/homekit/.
Your current installation needs, I belive, further configuration. You need to make “config.json”
and enter your information there. Something like this.
“platforms”: [
{
“platform”: “HomeAssistant”,
“name”: “HomeAssistant”,
“host”: “http://127.0.0.1:8123”,
“password”: “yourapipassword”,
“supported_types”: [“automation”, “binary_sensor”, “climate”, “cover”, “device_tracker”, “fan”, “group”, “input_boolean”, “light”, “lock”, “media_player”, “remote”, “scene”, “script”, “sensor”, “switch”, “vacuum”],
“default_visibility”: “hidden”,
“logging”: true,
“verify_ssl”: true
}
]

look here https://www.npmjs.com/package/homebridge-homeassistant
and here https://github.com/oznu/homebridge-config-ui-x