My new Echo Show 15 (post sideloading) - February 2024

Ive been running HA Dashboards on two FireHD10 9th Gens for about a 18 months now and in fairness they do their thing and look good (to me) in their 3D printed wall mounted frames.

Power comes in through the wall behind the frames and smart plugs or sockets are in place to power cycle the tablets to get around the potential battery swelling as time goes on…and (touch wood) they work fine and do exactly what I need them too.

When the Echo Show 15 was announced and released it certainly piqued my interest but the far higher price tag put me off initially so I carried on with my existing setup none the wiser and blissfully ignorant to what it could be.

Of course, this was a slight misstep on my part as this meant that the abiltiy to sideload FKB and other stuff passed me by and Amazon have fully blocked this ability now which in some way really limits the ability to do Home Assistant on this device for many, at least in the way threy currently are.

That said, there have recently been some refurbished units on Amazon (for £157.93) which is far cheaper than second hand ones are selling for on FBM or Ebay and with the ability to apply a trade in discount to this price by trading in an older Echo device ( I had to reach out to Amazon customer support who approved this for me and then retrospectivey applied the refund/discount after delivery) this brought the price down to £118 ish…which I could stomach, even knowing I might have to facilitate some sort of workaround to get things working nicely…and in fact this was about the same price for the tablet AND the 3D printed fram I had to buy.

So I took delivery and went about seeing how I could make this work for me with my existing dashboads and moving this over to the Show 15…