My personal implementation of Home Assistant

Hey Home Assistant Community! Here is my implementation of Home Assistant. It can also viewed on Github.

Overview

Here is my home automation project Ive been improving since mid 2017. At that time I had switched from Samsung SmartThings and I could not be more happy with my decision. I take a firm minimalism approach to my layout, hence why the number of things are essential and concise. Also, some areas and ideas of improvement have been limited due to leasing my dwelling but that situation will be changing soon.

In-front of Home Assistant

• HA is running in a Virtual Environment on Raspberry Pi 3 running Debian Stretch (I highly recommend running HA on a RasPi with a Z-stick). I tried Hassbian and other deployment methods, but wasn’t satisfied with the level of control of the things I list below until I put HA on top of my own deployed OS.
  • To connect to HA externally, I use my own domain through Google Domains with a Dynamic DNS record setup on a sub domain. To solve the internal/external connection problem, I have a Host Override setup on my pfSense router that forwards my HA sub domain to the local IP address of HA when I’m on my local network.
  • For connection security on HA, I have an Nginx reverse proxy setup on the RaspberryPi that forwards requests to HA. My Nginx config is pretty strict and I have a certificate setup through Let’s Encrypt
    that auto-renews to secure my traffic internally and externally.

Big Components and Ideas

• Auto hide media devices when not in-use - This one was original, can be found in mediaother.yaml. I didn’t want the clutter of 6 media devices on my main page when they are not playing anything.
  • Light Alarm Clock - My bedroom lights slowly turn on, and the radio cast(s) instead of an immediate audible alarm. I used this example on the community forum. Thanks hokagegano!