MyQ Remote Light

I have a Liftmaster MyQ “Remote Light” (823LM). There is also a plug-in style (825LM) and Chamberlain equivalents (WSLCEV, PILCEV). These switches can be programmed to turn on/off with the garage door motor light, or they can be controlled from a button on a garage door opener remote. They can also be controlled from the MyQ app.

It would be great if the MyQ component was updated to include support for the status/control of MyQ remote lights. I’m thinking a MyQ hub component should be created for the general connection to MyQ, then a MyQ switch component can be added in addition to the MyQ cover component that exists for the garage door.

Unfortunately, I haven’t yet had the time to devote to learn what’s involved in creating components for Home Assistant (I’ve been wanting to get my Haiku Home fans integrated also.) If there’s interest, maybe someone more familiar with this will work on it!

I too have an 823lm light switch. And personally, I am not interested in automating my garage doors for security reasons. So instead of updating the existing MyQ cover component, I took some of the existing Home Assistant MyQ code, rewrote parts of it and created a new switch component called MyQSwitch. This new component only operates on the LampModules found via the MyQ gateway. If you would like to try it out, send me a message with your email address and I would be happy to send it to you. I would like to find a few beta testers before I post the code to github.

Hey mskressin. Does your component code support the 825lm model as well? Have you had any beta testers yet? I would be interested in trying it out.

I don’t know if it will work with the 825lm switch since I don’t have one to test it with. However, I have no reason to believe that it won’t. I have had the original poster of this thread testing my component for a few weeks now without any problems. If you would like to try it out, send me a message with your email address.