MySensors Gateway on RPi over SPI

Hello,

First off, I am quite new to this HomeAssistant thing. I’ve always just made my own solutions but I decided to give HA a shot since it already has a nice front-end and it can run on the RPi.

On the MySensors webpage, it shows the possibility of connecting an NRF024 to the RPi to act as a gateway. Now how would I add this to HA? I know I can edit configuration.yaml to add the mysensors section and define the gateway, although the gateway is wired to SPI, not UART or USB or over MQTT. How would I define that device path and baud rate?

Would it just be /dev/spidev0.0 and then no baud rate defined?

Hi!

I suggest you follow the instructions here for serial gateway:

This will expose a serial device which you can then use in the mysensors config section in home assistant.

I’m not sure what you mean with:

the gateway is wired to SPI

Do you mean the radio is attached via SPI? In that case, that’s the normal procedure, but in this case it’s done directly to the RPi GPIO instead of to an arduino.

The gateway is either an arduino with radio connected and a gateway sketch or an RPi with a radio connected and a program/service running the gateway code.

Yes, the radio is connected directly to the RPi GPIO header using the SPI0 connections.

I assume this program is written by me, otherwise who would know how often we need to check the nodes. My question is where does HA fit in with that? I figure that I list my sensors, that I want the gateway to check, in the configuration.yaml file and then HA will execute those reads?

I think this is my main area of confusion here since MySensors to seem to be a standalone thing and the HA is this massive complex shell meant to integrate with lots of things. I’m just not sure where to put the hooks in between them and what hooks are already there.

No, you get the program via clone, build, run etc, if you follow the instruction in the link above.