Nabu Casa best way to start node red sequence

I am new to Node RED and Nabu Casa and I just want your opinion on the following ‘requirement’.
Let’s say I want to be able to say ‘Hey Google start watering my garden plants’, I know I can create a routine in the Google Home app or in IFTTT (if I want a custom response). In my use case I would like a Node RED sequence to be fired after ‘launching’ such command. I only found 2 ways to do this:

1. Create a boolean input and listen to changes of its state and let Nabu Casa call something like ‘input_boolean.turn_on’
  2. I also saw another user @Muttly who created a script which in its turn sets a boolean and triggers a sequence: Trigger nodered flow from script

Are there any better ways that I am still missing?

Those are honestly the easiest. Set up google home to call the input Boolean when that particular phrase is said. That’s how I have all my “scenes” set up. Just make sure that the input Boolean gets reset to off. Otherwise you can’t call it again. The nice thing is. With the input Boolean you can have other flows call it not just google. It makes automations start to connect.

And do you also set the boolean by having a script for it:

water_time:
  alias: Water Garden
  sequence:
    - service: input_boolean.turn_on
      data:
        entity_id: input_boolean.water_time

Or is there a simpler way?

I use the UI to create my input booleans for exactly this purpose. It’s under “helpers” in the configuration page. I then do exactly as you said with node-red and watch for a state change on the input boolean.

1 Like

This is how I do that.

How to trigger a Node-RED flow from the Home Assistant UI

@mbonani

Really nice post! In your comment section someone mentions node-red-contrib-home-assistant-websocket, do you use it instead of the ‘default’ node-red-contrib-home-assistant? I am not sure which one is more stable.

I would say that node-red-contrib-home-assistant-websocket is the current “default”.