Nabu Casa: "Connection closed: Invalid auth" error

Hi all,

I have been using Home Assistant for 2 months now and I love it. Everything was working great (zigbee2mqtt, node-red, etc) until the moment that I wanted to use Nabu Casa cloud.

For some reason, I can connect to it, but the connections only last a few hours before I get the criptyc error message:

Logger: hass_nabucasa.iot
Source: /usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/hass_nabucasa/iot_base.py:224
Connection closed: Invalid auth

After that, my Cloud connection status turns to “not connected”, despite my Remote Control status shows as connected. With that , I loose Alexa devices control, smartthings connection, etc.

I have contacted Nabu Casa support, but after a month I cannot figure out what is wrong with my connection. I have inactivated ipv6, energy management on the laptop and firewall, without fixing the problem.

If I go to the part of the code from the iot_base file that is returning the error message I see:

except client_exceptions.WSServerHandshakeError as err:
if err.status == 401:
disconnect_warn = “Invalid auth.”
self.close_requested = True
# Should we notify user?
else:
self._logger.warning(“Unable to connect: %s”, err)

In other words it seems a 401 error, which suggest that I don’t have the authorization credentials for the connection. This is strange to me, since I could login without problems initially.

Can somebody please give me a suggestion of how to solve this problem?

I have been running Home Assistant in a old MacBook Pro (2009), in a virtual machine all installed as recommended.

Thank you for your attention!

Dose your virtual machine have the correct time?

Hi Tom_I,

Thank you for your answer. The time seems alright. If I go to the ssh shell in home assistant and use the comand “date” it gives the correct time, even when I get disconnected. Is this the correct way to verify if the virtual machine time is right?