Naming of Owntracks regions / HASS zones

I’ve been using Home Assistant for a few months now and it’s absolutely fantastic - I love it!

I use Owntracks to keep track of myself and my partner throughout the day. I find that sometimes Home Assistant does not correctly display the name of the zone that we’re in. Here’s an example:

Whilst Dom’s zone name is displayed correctly, I should be in a zone called Work (Chris), not work chris.

In Owntracks, the regions are named work_chris and work_dom on both of our devices.

In the HASS configuration, I include a file called zones.yaml which contains the following:

- name: Work (Chris)
  latitude: !secret WORK_CHRIS_LATITUDE
  longitude: !secret WORK_CHRIS_LONGITUDE
  radius: !secret WORK_CHRIS_RADIUS
  icon: mdi:factory

- name: Work (Dom)
  latitude: !secret WORK_DOM_LATITUDE
  longitude: !secret WORK_DOM_LONGITUDE
  radius: !secret WORK_DOM_RADIUS
  icon: mdi:pharmacy

Is anyone able to tell me why HASS does not display my current zone as Work (Chris), and instead displays work chris? I am guessing I’ve probably just messed up the naming convention somewhere - either Owntracks or my zones.yaml file.

I tried changing the name of the Owntracks region from work_chris to Work (Chris) and then updating my location, but this had no effect.

Here’s how the States page looks for the two devices:

Thanks in advance for your help!

Chris

You might be able to adjust this by adding ‘friendly_name’ to the zone entry.if that doesn’t work you might be able to create entry in customize.yaml for zone.chris_work and then add friendly_name

Hi Keith, thanks for your reply, it works! I don’t know why I didn’t think of it.

I added the following to my customize.yaml file and it all works exactly as it should :slight_smile:

zone.work_chris:
  friendly_name: Work (Chris)

zone.work_dom:
  friendly_name: Work (Dom)

(For reference, adding a friendly_name attribute to the zone entities did not work.)

Best regards,

Chris