Need Advice on ESP Project

I’m not an electrical engineer so some stuff is still a learning curve as I tinker with Arduino’s, Pi’s breadboards and PCB’s to accomplish relatively rudimentary automation (i.e., simple plant watering devices and basic ESP32 sensor data).

What I want to do is have an ESP device powered by battery that can drive a small motor and survive the temperatures outdoors. It’s essentially a gate device that will have sensors to indicate if the gate is closed, sensors to read the temp and humidity (because why not, they are simple) and to control a motor capable of just lifting and lowering a lever on my gate latch (small lever, takes almost no effort to use, so the motor doesn’t have to be beefy) and a piezo style speaker to use as a “buzzer” (think apartments that buzz you in).

The concept is that I’ll have HA activate the motor to open the gate lever for 5 seconds and buzz the speaker to let the person know they can open the door before the motor lowers the lever again. I would like to one day geek it out with facial recognition and some other stuff, but just this basic capability via ESPHome would be sufficient.

What I’m not certain about is how to power it without having to change batteries frequently. I’m open to solar but don’t know anything about how to implement it, so I thought maybe some weather tough batteries that I could recharge from time to time (maybe 2-3 months?) would be OK too. Not sure if I need additional components to power the motor (step downs, resisters, etc). The use of this device would be infrequent (other than reporting on sensors occasionally), maybe a couple times per week.

I’m hoping my fellow nerds who are much more versed in this type of thing could give me some guidelines. Even broad strokes are cool because I can research a proposed concept to hopefully get to the finish line.

Thanks!