Need advice on powering 12v valve with 18650 battery

I bought this 12v valve actuator to turn on the drip system for my whole garden. My plan is to run this from 18650 cells with solar charging. I am doing another project with an ESP32 running soil moisture sensors and temperature probes which I am planning on powering in the same way. My original idea was to use a TP4056 for charging battery and outputting to 2 boost converters. One boosts the voltage to 5v to power the ESP, the other is a MT3608 capable of boosting to 12v to power the valve actuator. I am trying to incorporate everything to utilize the same battery pack/solar charger/housing as both projects are very close proximity.

I am not very experienced with DIY electronics so I’m not sure if this is a good idea or whether I should just do a seperate battery/solar/boost setup for each project. Also not sure if these are even the components I should be using or whether I need to add more things in like resistors or capacitors etc. I don’t know much about currents and voltages e.g how much components can handle before being burned out.

I attempted to power and operate the actuator earlier today and I put some thought to the actuator drawing a lot of current as it operates. The 12vdc wall plug it came with is 1a, and the MT3608 says it is 2a so I figured it should be ok but maybe I was way off because I’m pretty sure I fried something. I set the MT3608 to exactly 12v before connecting it and had my multimeter connected to measure the current so I could work out how much power the actuator would use each time it was operated to determine how many batteries I might need to power it. The actuator operated as I connected the power up but then nothing else happened so I started checking voltages on some pins.