Need help - many issues, probably related to each other

Hi everyone,

I am reaching out to this kind community today as I am absolutely lost and start losing my mind.

Quick background : I have been using HA for the past 2 years on an old laptop. I only use very basic features (some zigbee hardware but mostly lights). Yesterday, I purchased a pre-owned HP thinclient 620 and installed HAOS. I wanted to do a fresh install and therefore didn’t copy my older HA instance.

Now comes the nightmare. I have a list of issues that might be related to each other, but I am not sure:

• HACS → When installing HACS from the terminal, I get the following error written in the terminal : “wget : unable to resolve host address ‘get.hacs.xyz’.
    This is following the HACS official installation guide and using the code "
    wget -O - https://get.hacs.xyz | bash -”. Same result with “wget -O - https://raw.githubusercontent.com/hacs/get/main/get | bash -”.

This is with the addon terminal “SSH & Web terminal”. With “Terminal & SSH”, the error is “wget: bad address”.

How I tried to resolve:

• Rebooted several times HAOS
  • Turned on/off IPV6 within HA
  • Changed the DNS within HA to 8.8.8.8 and/or 8.8.8.4
  • Cleared browser cache
  • rebooted internet box

Note that I am basically copying the setup of my previous HA, which works perfectly, so am very surprised this is going this bad… My last resort would be to re-install HAOS and try again from scratch, but I am not sure it will help at all.

I am under the impression that all these issues are from the same source (I might be totally wrong tho), so any one resolving any issue might help resolve in fact all issue.

Thanks you all in advance for your help and thanks for having read my post!

Does this device actually have an IP4 address, is on the network, and can reach the internet?

Tried disabling IP6?

It definitely sounds like a DNS issue, possibly a wider networking issue.