Need help setting up MQTT broker on HASS.io

Hi All,

I’m completely new to HA and just started using Get Started article, and I’m currently stuck…

Basically, I have an SONOFF RF bridge (flashed with Espurna), some SONOFF PIR2 and SONOFF DW1 sensors, and a Raspberry Pi 3.
My goal is to build a burglar alarm system.

My HA is up and running on RPi and I can ssh into it from my MacBook Pro (OS X 10.11.6).
I added empty mqtt section to configuration.yaml to enable internal MQTT broker, but apparently it’s not working because when I run mosquitto_sub -v -V mqttv311 -t "#"it says Error: Address not available
I tried to install a mosquito server manually (tutorial), but have no luck here as well because it says -bash: command not found for either sudo and apt-key.

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks for your help.

So let’s get this out of the way:

You cannot install things in hassio unless it is in an Add-on. hassio is not ubuntu, it’s not debian. It is not a general OS to do things in.

Secondly,
Have you tried installing the MQTT add-on?

Yes, Mosquitto broker add-on is installed, but in the system log I see
ERROR (SyncWorker_18) [hassio.docker] Can’t start addon_core_mosquitto: 500 Server Error: Internal Server Error (“driver failed programming external connectivity on endpoint addon_core_mosquitto (3836f23d34feeb12bfbfb35c6adfcc075b97f7ff5ddbdbebec9de3fea648bb23): Error starting userland proxy: listen tcp 0.0.0.0:1883: bind: address already in use”)

mosquitto is already running. it appears your home assistant built in broker is working fine.

2 choices:

turn off the built in broker and use the mqtt addon
or
use the built in broker

could you tell me how to test that the broker is working?

by the way, I was able to access http://hassio.local:3218 via configurator add-on, but recently it started showing Policy not fulfilled and I cannot change anything.

Check your configuration.yaml.

If you’ve configured

mqtt:

the internal MQTT broker will be started.