Need help with creating a panic button

Hi I am a complete beginner at home assistant and trying to create a panic button for my mother using a flic button.

I have the flic button running on HA using flicd an have been able to get the button to turn on lights with a double click of the button just as a test to see if the button works correctly.

what I would like to do is have HA send a text message to my phone along with her location when the button is double clicked. I know this can be done using the flic app on android but I do not have a flic hub and don’t want to have to rely on the phones Bluetooth being on so want to go down the HA route.

I have never used home assistant before but decided that HA seems to be the best way of setting up this project.

after doing some research I found what seem a few options such as telegram, Pushover and pushbullet but not sure if am heading in the right direction or even how to get one of those set up.

If anyone has any advice or idea how I could implement this idea of a panic button that will send a text alert that includes the location i would be very grateful.

I was also considering the possibility of setting up an automation that would also set the users phone to loudspeaker and call the emergency services if the button is double pressed but not sure how possible this would be.

additional information that may be useful is that i have Node-RED add-on installed but unfamiliar with how to use it as well as the file editor add-on.

Those of often the go-to’s for HA and notifications. You can also incorporate Twilio for SMS texting if you want, there are a number of 3rd party solutions with integrations into HA. Telegram is a very popular setup and is relatively easy to install in HA if you follow Telegram Integration documentation from Home Assistant.

1 Like

You can’t call emergency services from HA (at least in the US as far as I know). But you can use twilio for not only texting but to make automated calls.