Need help with "else" template

i’m using a great speech engine that @ccoston created. I want to modify it to check / speak if a zone is violated. If not violated to then say “everything is closed.” I’m using the ‘else’ but for the life of me i can’t get it to work. sorry but i’m still new to python. It never gets to the ‘else’ when all zones are not violated.

here is my code
indent preformatted text by 4 spaces
{%- for entity_id in states.group.elkzones.attributes.entity_id -%}
{% set parts = entity_id.split(’.’) -%}
{%- if states(entity_id) != ‘Normal’ %}
{%- if loop.first %} {% elif loop.last %} and the {% else %},The {% endif -%}{{ states[parts[0]][parts[1]].name }} needs to be closed{% endif -%}
{%- else -%}
{%- if states(entity_id) == ‘Normal’ %}
Everything is closed
{%- endfor %}
indent preformatted text by 4 spaces

you have an endif before the else. It’s hard to tell if this is exactly what you wanted, but try this:

{%- for entity_id in states.group.elkzones.attributes.entity_id  -%}
  {% set parts = entity_id.split(’.’) -%}
   {%- if loop.first %} 
   {% elif loop.last %} and the 
   {% else %},The 
   {% endif -%}

{{ states[parts[0]][parts[1]].name }} needs to    be closed
{%- elif states(entity_id) == ‘Normal’ %}
  Everything is closed
{% endif -%}
{%- endfor %}

@treno thank you for trying. the ‘endif’ actually works where it’s at. If a zone is violated it will voice out all the zones or the one zone that is violated. My problem is when there is no zone violated that i want it to go to the ‘else’ and voice “Everything is closed”

I tried your code into dev-template and i got the following error:

Error rendering template: TemplateSyntaxError: unexpected char ‘’’ at 102

Again, the code i displayed doesn’t throw any errors, it is just when there isn’t any zones violated it doesn’t voice “everything is closed”. Only when there are zones open it will loop and let me know which zones are open.