Need help with Remotec ZTS-500US thermostat

Hello All,

I am new to Home Assistant. I started looking at Home Assistant when I started thinking of moving my Z-Wave sensors off of Wink. I am using Zooz S2 ZST10 USB stick. I was able to get all my sensors move over. Then to consolidate all my home automation to Home Assistant, I thought of getting a Z-Wave thermostat. I searched these forums and found that people have had success with Remotec ZTS 500US. But it does not seem to work well for me.

I am able to add the thermostat to the network, it shows up as a node, with two entities, a sensor and a climate entity.

1, none of those entities update with current data on the thermostat. I searched the forums and found about polling. Not sure if I should enable polling for just the sensor or the climate entity as well ?

2, if I enable polling for the sensor, it is able to update temperature, but the state maintained by climate entity in its attributes is not updated, eg hvac_mode, current_temperature, fan_mode remain unchanged at what they were when the network was started. My thought on this was just to enable polling for climate entity rather than the sensor, but wanted to hear if I am doing things right.

3, my thermostat does not report target_temp_high and target_temp_low, they are always set to 0. Thus the Lovelace card would always show the slider at 0,0 unless I change it. Does anybody know if I am doing anything wrong on this ?

4, I have tried calling ‘climate.set_temperature’ on climate entity with target_temp_high and target_temp_low, I can see commands being sent in ZWave logs and expected replies being received but the device is unreliable on the response. Sometimes it receives the message and responds accordingly but sometimes it feels as if the message is received but not acted on. Has anyone run into this and solved it ? How to make sure the device reacts, is there a minimum offset I need from the current_temperature ?