Need ideas: The most efficient way to develop for Lovelace?

Good day,

I’m quite new to Lovelace (been trying on and off for the last 6 months), and now I would like to invest a lot of time into FINALLY making HA fully working.

I needs ideas in order to make the development more efficient. In order to give you the best context, I’ll describe my environment:

• I’m running HA (docker) on an Intel NUC.
  • I’m using my Mac and Visual Studio Code to modify yaml files.
  • Visual Studio Code is connected to my Intel NUC using SSH so I can edit the files right away without the need of uploading the file to the NUC each and every time I modify something
  • I’m using both Safari and Firefox in order to test.

When it comes to Lovelace, I’d rather use the YAML mode. So… when adding a new card, I actually modify the yaml file in Visual Studio Code, then I need to restart the Docker container every single time to see the changes. Since there is a lot of tries and errors for me it is very annoying to wait 1 or 2 minutes for a single-line modification.

So, the question, does any one know an efficient way to see the changes right away without rebooting? (like a command I could run inside the docker container in bash? or whatever)…

Any other ideas?

Thank you!

No you don’t. Lovelace yaml changes do NOT require a reboot. Just refresh the page.

Yeah… well that what I’ve read somewhere here… but there is probably something I’m doing wrong… maybe a setting I need to change in my browser because refreshing the page has just never worked. :frowning:

Edit: No matter if I’m using Firefox or Safari, both won’t display changes on refresh… I always need to reboot the entire docker… I’m probably missing out on something there…

Yep, you do :slight_smile: If you use YAML mode for lovelace, you have (and need) two seperate refreshes. :slight_smile: