Need Simple Example of Firing An IFTTT Webhook

I’m pretty new to Home Assistant but have been using IFTTT for years. I’ve already got a bunch of IFTTT webhooks that work. (I’ve already setup the IFTTT API key in my config file and tested it.)

All I’m looking to do is trigger them. I’m having a hard time finding examples on doing that that aren’t too complex. They seem to focus on inbound triggers which is not what I’m looking for.

I basically want a button in my home assistant dashboard that just fires an IFTTT webhook. That’s it.

The IFTTT webhook is WizLivingNightLight

Can someone point me in the right direction? Seems like this should be ultra simple.

Thanks.

Sounds as if you need a “receive web request” trigger in your IFTTT applet, to which you give a name.

Then in HA, you can have an input_button, with an automation that fires when it is pressed. Something like:

- id: '1675268005876'
  alias: Test
  description: ' '
  trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
    - input_button.test
  condition: 
  action:
  - service: ifttt.trigger
    data:
      event: heat_day
  mode: single

…where “heat_day” is the name of your IFTTT trigger.

I go into the automation section and select scripts, switch over to the YAML editor and pasted in the example with my IFTT name when setting up a button.

I get “Configuration errors detected”

What I’m I doing wrong? I’m pretty new to Home Assistant (couple of weeks.)

The example you give configures the card in the dashboard. Before this will work, you need to:

• Create your button in Settings | Devices & Services | Helpers
  • Create the automation in Settings | Automations & Scenes | Automations

For the latter, you need to be in automations, not scripts. Automations are triggered by things happening (like a button press); scripts are bits of code without triggers.

Then you can go to your dashboard and add a new card looking something like this in yaml:

show_name: true
show_icon: true
type: button
tap_action: