Need the big picture

Hi,

I am new to Home Assistant. I am having trouble finding good tutorials that basically teach various concepts.

Now “templates” have their own help and so do other things, but there is nothing that ties all together and gives a big picture view (may be I can’t see and just need someone to point me to it).

What confuses me are terms like: platform, sensor, sensors, template.

I have a working HA for various things, but its more of a use an example and modify. It helps me in the short run but not long run.

My sensor.yaml contains template which contains sensors:

- platform: template
    sensors:
      kitchen_voltage:
        value_template: >-
          {{ states.switch.kitchen.attributes.voltage }}
        unit_of_measurement: 'V'

My template.yaml contains sensor:

- sensor:
      - name: "Turn Off after"
        unique_id: turn_off_after
        icon: mdi:progress-clock
        state: >
           {% set delay_total_min = states('input_number.countdown_timer') | float * 60 %}
           {% set delay_hour = delay_total_min / 60 %}
           {% set delay_min = delay_total_min % 60 %}
           {{ '%02i:%02i'%(delay_hour, delay_min) }}
        attributes:
          hour: 25
          minute: 26

Both the yaml files contain sensors. If I move them all to one location (say template) and format it accordingly, it does not work.

This confuses me. Any guidance is appreciated.

Regards,

Well sensor is easy, it senses something. Temperature, Pressure, whether you are home etc.

A template is a programme that calculates one thing from another.

In your first example you have a switch called switch.kitchen. That switch has an attribute for the voltage. The example converts the attribute to a sensor so that you can show it in the UI.

1 Like

Maybe this could help

Not overly complicated once you have the grasp of it.

Basically, everything in HA relates to entities. An entity is something HA can act upon.