Nest integration (Legacy account) suddenly stopped working

I’ve been running Home Assistant for a few years and my Nest Thermostat was one of the first devices I’ve added.

Just added these 2 lines in my yaml and it has been working like a charm since then:
nest:

• client_id: !secret nest_clientid*
  • client_secret: !secret nest_clientpass*

Today I was rummaging about in some settings and added a simple switch to do something entirely unrelated and restarted Home Assistant.
since then… Nest is unavailable. No errors when HASS started. The only error comes when I try to reload the integration:
AttributeError: ‘NestLegacyDevice’ object has no attribute ‘get’

I’ve heard of some things that Google wants you to migrate, but I reeeaaallly don’t want to migrate my account to Google and have to use very tedious methods to create cloud projects etc etc etc.

Is there a bug that has slipped in the latest version of hass?
Home Assistant 2022.10.3
Supervisor 2022.10.0
Operating System 9.2
Frontend 20221010.0 - latest

1 Like

Exactly the same for me…

Nest thermostat
Nest Protect smoke detectors x3
Nest Hello doorbell

All stopped working earlier today.

I know that the old works with nest integration was planned to be removed since the start of the year (2022.02 blog indicated removal will be in 2022.5), but it seems weird for it to disappear on a dot release not on main release.

Also not mentioned in release notes for 2022.10

I think it’s because of this:

but afaik I’ve already changed settings a few months ago…

I thought that was for google nest API, not the legacy “works with nest” which I (and I thought also you) are using. Still the writing is on the wall and I need to migrate to google account…

The error I am getting in the log is:

Logger: homeassistant.util.async_
Source: util/async_.py:180
First occurred: 8:30:03 AM (2 occurrences)
Last logged: 8:30:04 AM