Nest/ Node Red help needed

I’m using a thermostat (Nest) and I am new to node red myself and I’m completely lost as to how and where to begin. I’m not sure how to make a flow for what I’m trying to achieve. I am trying to setup a flow that does this If any of the doors or windows are open for more than 5 minutes then turn off the HVAC. If the HVAC is off and a door or window closes and all doors and windows are closed then resume HVAC.

What I have tried and failed with is connecting a state changed to a stop timer and lastly the call service.

Another issue i am having is when I enter {“entity_id”:“climate.downstairs”,“auto_away”: ‘on’} the box remains red

Forgot to mention Im using Homeassistant /Hassio

Is there a reason why you want to use Node Red instead of an automation in Home Assistant?

I’m not able to access my NR currently to try it for real, but I think I can point you in the right direction

If any of the doors or windows are open for more than 5 minutes then turn off the HVAC.

Use a state change node for each window/door, and connect each to a switch. The switch routes for on/off:

• On → stoptimer node (starts the timer)
  • Off → change node, set payload to “STOP” → same stoptimer as above (cancels timer)

Connect each stoptimer to one current state node for the HVAC. Connect that to a switch (if on, continue) → call service to torn off HVAC.

So you will have a bunch of inputs, each with their own timer. If one of the timers successfully completes, it checks the state of the HVAC, and then if necessary turns it off.

If the HVAC is off and a door or window closes and all doors and windows are closed then resume HVAC.

I think this could be easier if you put all your doors and windows in a group in home assistant, then use a state change node to monitor the group

state change node (halt if on) → current state of HVAC → switch node - if off → call service to turn on HVAC