Netatmo thermostat / climate device responsiveness

Hi there,

I’m new to HA, I just got into this amazing app and ecosystem while replacing an old thermostat with one that I can control remotely. And down the rabbit hole I am…

Anyway, my question is about the responsiveness of the netatmo integration.

I just have a simple Netatmo thermostat, connected, online, all good. The integration works fine, the climate device appears and I can control it.

The only glitch is when doing some change from HA. The change itself (like changing temperature) happens very quickly on the device itself but takes several minutes to appear on HA.

An example:

• current set temperature: 19,5 º shown on the physical thermostat and HA
  • I set it to 20º on HA, some seconds later the thermostat changes to 20º but HA goes to 19,5º for several minutes until eventually switches to the correct value

I’ve even tried to read the API from the dev.netatmo.com (GET /homestatus) and it returns the correct value immediately. So I guess the integration is not getting the new state from the change command and not querying it after changing, just waiting for the regular polling cycle. Maybe it should not be hard to query after getting the answer to the command and update outside the regular polling cycle?

Is this the normal behaviour or am I doing something wrong?

This is normal behaviour when your instance does not make use of Netatmo webhook events. We decidedly only poll data on a fixed schedule to not overload the Netatmo back end and work within their rate limits. When the webhook is established you should see near instant responsiveness.

Yes, I thought so. I’m not sure how to check whether webhooks are registered. I’ve tried uninstalling and installing again. I tried manually unregistering and registering the webhooks with the integration services. The external address of my instance is set on configuration and open on the internet (port 443 with SSL).