New Android App development

Hey guys!

First, I’d like to introduce myself since this is my first message on this forum. My name is Diego and I’m a Senior Android Engineer with +8 years of experience developing native Android Apps.

A few days ago, I started using HA as my automation system and therefore I’ve been using the Android App. All my respects to the contributors and people who work on the companion application they have done a great job :raised_hands:. However, I found the app uses a WebView under the hood and there are no tests at all, among other things.

I’ve been thinking about developing a fully native Android App for HA in order to deliver a native good performant application so everybody can choose if they prefer the official one or others as it happens with Reddit, Twitter or other clients.

I would appreciate your feedback about the idea, just to confirm (or discard) if it would add value to the community and if the people would use it. If so, which kind of features would you like to see?

Thank you for your time!
Cheers

Hi Diego
I’m a user or home assistant for more than one year.
I use it in 3 différents houses and it works great. Thanks to the team and the upgrades

I use companion on 2 android phones because it accepts only one instance of HA.
A new app with this possibility of addressing 2 or more HA would be great.

Companion app is doing a great job, with a lot of sensors , it would be great if it would be possible to use a native little automation on Android phones (like automate or macrodroid).
And if inside companion we could send or receive SMS (for notifications (send) or automations (receive) ) (I can develop use case in other subject if it s interesting)

So good luck and let’s wait answers or opinions of more experimented users or Devs or god’s of HA !

1 Like

If like to be able to control more of my phone’s features and settings from HA.