New Component - Sonoff S20 running ESPEasy

I’m pretty new to HA (only just over a week) but my smart home is made up of very cheap plugs and bulbs… I love HA and the ability to expose these cheap devices to Alexa but it was missing one thing… and hopefully this will fill that gap.

It will allow you to turn on, off and query the status of any Sonoff device running ESPEasy.

Any feedback would be welcome.

Note : This component is a modification of the Kankun smart plug component.

4 Likes

Welcome to our community.

Yes, I love the Sonoff devices as well. I use the Tasmota firmware on all of my Sonoff devices…

1 Like

thanks for the welcome :slight_smile:

Would it be worth me making a component for the Tasmota firmware too?

I beleive it accepts HTTP commands for on/off and state so it should be a simple enough change…

i’d need someone to test it though…

1 Like

I use it with my MQTT broker and it works like a charm :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome aboard! :slight_smile:

I can test it if you want, but Tasmota firmware already works great with Home Assistant thought MQTT which many of us already use.

1 Like

I would appreciate the feedback if you wouldn’t mind… i appreciate people use MQTT but it’s not something i currently run (although i’m increasingly thinking i may be missing a trick by not using it)

I’ve updated the github to include one for tasmota aswell as espeasy… the only thing i’m not sure on is the state.

If HA can’t see the state, could you issue this http command to one of your switches and paste me the output?

http://sonoffip//cm?cmnd=Power

I’ve not played with MQTT before but it seems i might be missing out on something by not playing with it…

could you give me a noob explanation of what it acheives and how?

thank you for sharing that piece. And by the was is that also compatible with “sonoff Dual”?

Here is a link to a website with some very good explanations of MQTT and how it works.